Cricket World Cup

« Previous
Next »

Cricket World Cup 2011, 2015 and 2019

The Cricket World Cup is the international championship of One Day International cricket. The event is organised by the sport's governing body, the International Cricket Council, every four years, with preliminary qualification rounds leading up to a finals tournament.

» Initially India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh were to host jointly the 2011 cricket World Cup, which comes to the sub continent after a gap of 15 years, but after the terrorist attack on Sri Lankan cricket team in Pakistan, Pakistan's name has been canceled from the hosts' list by the ICC.
» India was the main host of World Cup 2011.
» Inauguration ceremony was held at Sheikh Muzib Statidum, Dhaka, Bangladesh on 17th Feb., 2011, while the final match was held at Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai on April 2, 2011.
» M.S. Dhoni, the Captain of Indian Team was adjudged the 'Man of Match', while Yuvraj Singh was declared the 'Man of Tournament' in ICC Cricket World Cup 2011.
» India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka were the co-hosts for the 1996 world cup.
» Out of total 49 matches India hosted 29 matches (including the final)/ Sri Lanka 12 and Bangladesh 8 matches respectively.
» The matches of Cricket World Cup 2011 held in 12 cities of three host countries (India, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh and total 14 teams participated in two groups, i.e. Group 'A' and Group 'B'. India was in Group 'B'.
» India beat Australia in Quarter Final, Pakistan in Semi Final and Sri Lanka in Final match.
» Jumbo (the elephant) : The mascot of 2011 World Cup Cricket was unveiled in Colombo on April 02, 2010.
» The 2015 World Cup has been awarded jointly to Australia and New Zealand, while England will be the host for the 2019 edition of the Cup.

Winners of World Cup Cricket since 1975

Year Place Winner Runners up
1974 England West Indies Australia
1978 England West Indies England
1982 England India West Indies
1986 India and Pakistan Australia England
1990 Australia and New Zealand Pakistan England
1996 India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka Sri Lanka Australia
1998 England Australia Pakistan
2002 South Africa Australia India
2006 West Indies Australia Sri Lanka
2011 India, Sri Lanka & Bangladesh India Sri Lanka
2015 Australia & New Zealand Australia New Zealand
2018 England England New Zealand
2023 India Scheduled

« Previous
Next »