» It is believed that Cricket was started in England in 1300 A.D.
» It started as a game of shepherds and became popular among other classes in 18th century A.D.
» After some time a club known as "Merylebone Cricket Club" (M.C.C.) was formed at Lords in London.
» MCC still remains the framer and copyright holder of laws of cricket, though this position has largely been taken over by International Cricket Council (ICC) now.
» Cricket became popular in Australia due to British influence there.
» The first official cricket test match was played in the year 1877 between Australia and England in Melbourne.
» When some other countries started playing Cricket Imperical Cricket Conference was formed in 1909 which gave birth to International Cricket Conference in 1956.
» The first One Day International cricket match was played in the year 1971 between England and Australia in Melbourne.
» The first World Cup of one day matches was played in 1975 in London. West Indies won the World Cup beating Australia by 17 runs.
» The apex institution of world cricket is the 'International Cricket Council' (ICC) and its headquarters is now in Dubai from August 1, 2005. Earlier it was in Lords (England).
» Australia has won maximum of World Cups till date.
» In lndia Cricket was introduced by British royalty. Parsee community of India was Cricket in 1848.
» Later on Parsee team visited England in between European and Parsee teams, called Presidency matches, were started in Poona (now Pune) and Bombay (Now Mumbai).
» Raja Bhuptadra Singh of Patiala donated Ranji Trophy in 1934 for the national championship of Cricket.
» Board of Control for Cricket in India Was formed in 1927.

Measurements in Cricket

» Legth of the Pitch - 22 yards,(20.ll metres)
» Length of the Crease - 1.22 - 1.83 metres (1 ft.)
» Weight of the Ball - 155 to 163 gram
» Circumference of the Ball - 22.4 -22.9 cm (9 Inch)
» Length of the Bat - 96.5 cm (38 inch)
» Width of the Bat - 10.8 cm (4.25 inch)
» Length of the Stumps - 71.1 cm (28 inch)
» Length of Bells - 11.1cm (each bail)

India in Cricket

» Cricket is the most popular sport in India. The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) was established in 1928 and is the governing body of Indian Cricket.
» India played its first ever test match on 25 June, 1932 at Lord’s against England and became the sixth team to play Test cricket.
» Its first test victory came against England at Madras in 1952, and first series win against Pakistan in the same year.
» First permanent stadium in India- Braboume Stadium, Mumbai
» India has won the coveted ICC World Cup two times. First, in 1983, under the captainship of Kapil Dev and, second, in 2011, under the captainship of M.S. Dhoni. Besides
» India has also won the 2007 ICC World Twenty-20, 2013 ICC Champions Trophy, and shared the 2002 ICC Champions Trophy with Sri Lanka