ICC Twenty-20 Cricket World Cup

ICC Twenty-20 Cricket World Cup

The ICC Men's T20 World Cup (earlier known as ICC World Twenty20) is the international championship of Twenty20 cricket. Organised by cricket's governing body, the International Cricket Council (ICC), the tournament currently consists of 16 teams.

» The first ICC Twenty-20 (T-20) World Cup Cricket held in South Africa in September 11-24, 2007.
» In the final match played at Wanderers stadium in Johannesburg, India thrashed Pakistan by 5 runs and clinched the first T-20 world cup trophy.
» Pakistan emerged winners of the second (2009) edition of the ICC Twenty-20 World Cup Cricket, beating Sri Lanka by 8 wickets in the final in London, England on June 21, 2009.
» In the third (2010) edition of the ICC T-20 World Cup Cricket England clinched the cup, defeating Australia by 7 wickets in the final in Bridgetown, Barbados (West Indies), on May 16, 2010.
» In the fourth ICC T-20 World Cup (2012) West Indies defeated the host Sri Lanka in the final at Colombo on Oct. 7, 2012.
» The fifth (ICC T-20 World Cup) was hosted by Bangladesh in 2014, from March 16 to April 6.
» Sri Lanka defeated India in the final by 6 wickets at Sher-e-Bangla Stadium in Dhaka (Bangladesh). Virat Kohli was declared I 'Man of the Series'
» India will host its sixth edition from 8 March to 3 Aprail 2016.
» In the final match played at Eden Gardens stadium in Kolkata, West Indies thrashed England by 4 wickets and clinched the second T-20 world cup trophy.
» All the five ICC T-20 World Cup held till now, M.S. Dhoni was the Captain of Indian team.

Winners of T-20 World Cup Cricket

Year Host Place Winner Runners up
2007 South Africa India Pakistan
2009 England Pakistan Sri Lanka
2010 West Indies England Australia
2012 Sri Lanka West Indies Sri Lanka
2014 Bangladesh Sri Lanka India
2016 India West Indies England
2021 UAE & Oman Australia New Zealand
2022 Australia
2024 United States & West Indies
2026 India & Sri Lanka

ICC Women's World Twenty-20

The ICC Women's T20 World Cup is the biennial international championship for women's Twenty20 International cricket. The event is organised by the sport's governing body, the International Cricket Council, with the first edition having been held in England in 2009.

Year Host Place & Final venue Winner Runners up
2009 England ( London ) England New Zealand
2010 West Indies ( Bridgetown ) Australia New Zealand
2012 Sri Lanka ( Colombo ) Australia England
2014 Bangladesh ( Dhaka ) Australia England
2016 India ( Kolkata ) West Indies Australia
2018 West Indies ( North Sound ) Australia England
2020 Australia ( Melbourne ) Australia India
2023 South Africa