Indian Economy
General Knowledge

Rozgar Yojana

Rozgar Yojana

» The Urban Self-employment Programme and Urban Wage-Employment Programmes of the Swaran Jayanti Shahari Yojana, which substituted (in December 1997) various programmes operated earlier for poverty alleviation.
» SJSRY is funded on 75:25 basis between the Centre and the States.
» During the 3-year period (1997-98 and 1999-2000), a total of Rs. 353 crores were spent on SJSRY generating 21.8 million mandays of employment.

Swarna Jayanti Gram Swarozgar Yojana (SGSY)

The Government has introduced Swarna Jayanti Gram Swarozgar Yojana on April 1, 1999 and the previous six ongoing schemes have been merged with this scheme, they are—1. IRDP 2. TRYSEM 3. DWCRA 4. MWS 5. SITRA 6. Ganga Kalyan Yojana. The SGSY is a holistic programme covering all the aspects of self employment. The scheme is funded on 75 : 25 basis by the centre and states.

» The Drought-prone Area Programme was started in 1973 with the objective of developing the drought-prone area and also re-establishing the environmental balance. This programme is financially assisted by the Centre and the concerned State Governments in the ratio of 50 : 50.
» The Desert Development Programme was started in 1977-78 to end the ill-effects of drought in desert areas and also to stop the process of desert expansion. This programme is implemented on the basis of cent-per- cent financial assistance rendered by the Central Government.
» The Rural Landless Employment Guarantee Programme (RLEGP) began on August 15,1993 and National Rural Employment Programme (NREP) on October 2, 1980. During Seventh Five-Year Plan, these programmes were merged with Jawahar Rozgar Yojana.
» Council for Advancement of Peoples Action and Rural Technology (CAPART) is an independent section of the Rural Development Department of the Government of India; which was established on September 1, 1986. For rural development works, 'CAPART' provides grants to voluntary organisations. The head office of CAPART is at New Delhi.

Following programmes are being implemented by the Ministry of the Urban Development to eradicate Urban Poverty—
  (i) Nehru Rozgar Yojana
  (ii) Urban Basic Services for the Poor
  (iii) Programme of Environment Improvement of Urban Slums

The Nehru Rozgar Yojana began on October 1989 which was revised in March 1990. Under this Yojana following schemes were included —
  (i) Scheme of Urban Micro Enterprises—SUME
  (ii) Scheme of Urban Wage Employment—SUWE
  (iii) Scheme of Housing and Shelter Upgradation—SHASU

» The Prime Minister's Rozgar Yojana (PMRY) was started for October 1, 1993 for the educated unemployed youth and initially was in operation in urban areas. From April 1, 1994 onwards the scheme is being implemented throughout the country. Its objective was to give employment to 10 lakhs educated unemployed urban youth by establishing 7 lakh micro enterprises during the Eighth Five Year Plan. During 1993-94, this yojana was implemented in urban areas only but since April 1,1994 it was extended to the whole country.

* SHGs (Self-Help Groups) are considered eligible for financing under the PMRY, effective from December 8, 2003 (terms modified on July 30, 2004) provided all members individually satisfy the eligibility criteria laid down and total membership does not exceed twenty (20). There is also a ceiling on the loan amount.