Governer Generals and Viceroys in india

« Previous
Next »

Governer Generals and Viceroys in India ( 1858-1947 )

Lord Curzon (1899-1905)

Appointed a Police Commission in 1902 under Andrew Frazer; Set up the Universities Commission and accordingly the Indian Universities Act of 1904 was passed; Set up the Department of Commerce and Industry; Calcutta Corporation Act (1899); Passed the Indian Coinage and Paper Currency Act (in 1899) and put India on a gold standard; Partition of Bengal took place in 1905 (It was cardinal blunder of Curzon); The idea to build Victoria Memorial (Calcutta) was conceived by Lord Curzon. The foundation stone of memorial was laid in 1906 and it was opened in 1921.

Lord Minto II (1905-10)

Swadeshi Movement (1905-08); Foundation of the Muslim League, 1906; Surat session and split in the Congress (1907), Newspapers Act, 1908; Morley-Minto Reforms, 1909.

Lord Hardinge (1910-16)

Annulment of the partition of Bengal (1911), Transfer of capital from Calcutta to Delhi (1911); Delhi Darbar and Coronation of King George V and Queen Mary (1911); Establishment of Hindu Mahasabha by Madan Mohan Malviya (1915).

Lord Chelmsford (1916-21)

Home Rule Movement launched by Tilak and Annie Besant (1916); Lucknow Pact between Congress and Muslim League (1916), Arrival of Gandhi in India (1915); Champaran Satyagraha (1917); Montague s August Declaration (1917); Kheda Satyagraha and Satyagraha at Ahmedabad (1918); Government of India Act (1919), Repressive Rowlatt Act (1919); Jalianwala Bagh Massacre (April 13,1919), appointment of Hunter Commission to probe Jalianwala Bagh Massacre (Oct. 19, 1919), Khilafat Movement (1920-22); Non-Cooperation Movement (1920-22).

Lord Reading (1921-26)

Criminal Law Amendment Act and abolition of cotton excise; Repeal of Press Act of 1910 and Rowlatt Act of 1919; Violent Moplah rebellion in Kerala (1921); Foundation of CPI (1921); Chauri Chaura incident (1922); Foundation of Swaraj Party (1923); Kakori Train Dacoity (1925); Foundation of RSS (1925); Murder of Swami Shardhanand (1926).

Lord Irwin (1926-31)

Simon Commission announced in 1927; Butler Commission (1927); Nehru Report (1928); 14 points of Jinnah (1929); Lahore session of Cognress and 'Poorna Swaraj' declaration (1929); Civil Disobedience Movement (1930); Dandi March (1930); 1st Round Table Conference (1930); Gandhi-Irwin Pact (1931).

Lord Willingdon (1931-36)

IInd Round Table Conference (1931); Civil Disobedience Movement (1932); Announcement of MacDonald's Communal Award (1932); IIIrd Round Table Conference; Foundation of Congress Socialist Party — CSP (1934); Government of India Act (1935); Burma separated from India (1935), All India Kisan Sabha (1936).

Lord Linlithgow (1936-43)

General Election (1936-37); Congress ministries in 1937 and Resignation of Congress ministries in 1939; 'Deliverance Day' by Muslim Legue in 1939; Foundation of forward Block by S.C. Bose (1939); Lahore Resolution (1940)- August Offer (1940); Cripps Mission (1942); Quit India Movement (1942).

Lord Wavoll (1943-1947)

C. R. Formula 1944; Wavell Plan and Shimla Conference in 1945; End of llnd World War In 1945; 1NA Trials in 1945; Naval mutiny in 1946; Cabinet Mission, 1946 and acceptance of its proposals by Congress; Direct Action Day by the Muslim League on 16th August, 1946.

Lord Mounlbatten (Mar-Aug 1947)

Announced the 3 June, 1947 Plan; Introduction of Indian Independence Bill in the house of Commons; Appointment of 2 boundary commissions under Sir Cryil Radicliffe.

« Previous
Next »