Indian History
General Knowledge

Sultanate Period

( Delhi Sultanate )

The Background of Delhi Sultanate

Mohammad Bin Qasim's Invasion ( 712 AD )

First Muslim Invasion Mohammad Bin Qasim inverted India in 712 AD and conquered Sindh which became the province of Omayyad Khilafat.

Mahmud Ghaznavi’s Invasion ( 998 - 1030 AD )

First Turk Invasion Sultan Mahmud of Ghazni led about 17 expeditions to India to enrich himself by taking away the wealth from India. In 1025 he attacked and raided the most celebrated Hindu temple of Somnath that lies on the coast in the extreme south of Kathiwar. The temple was destroyed in 1026 AD.

Mohainmad Ghori's Invasion (1175 - 1206 AD)

Second Turk Invasion Mohammad Ghori invaded India and laid the foundation of the Muslim dominion in India. He may be considered the 'founder of muslim rule' in India.

Reasons for the Success of Turks in India

1. Rajputas lacked unity and organisation and were divided by rivalries
2. There was no central government
3. The Rajput Kingdoms were small and scattered
4. The Turks were better organised and took advantage of the lack of mutual co-operation among the Rajputas.

The Delhi Sultanate ( 1206 - 1526 AD )

Mohammed Ghori's conquests became the nucleus of a new political entity in India-the Delhi Sultanate. This period can be divided into 5 distinct periods viz.

1. The Slave Dynasty (1206-90)
2. The Khilji Dynasty (1290-1320)
3. The Tughlaq Dynasty (1320-1414)
4. The Sayyid Dynasty (1414-51)
5. The Lodhi Dynasty (1451-1526)