Indian History
General Knowledge

Congress Session

Important Congress Session

Year Place Importance
1885 Bombay At Gokuldas Tcjpal Sanskrit College, 72 delegates
1886 Calcutta 436 delegates
1887 Madras Tayabji became first Muslim President
1888 Allahabad George Yule became first English President
1889 Bombay Congress represented all areas of British India
1890 Calcutta Decision taken to organise a session of Congress in London
1895 Poona Demand for a representative body only for educated class
1898 Madras Social reform was set as the main goal
1907 Surat Congress split
1908 Madras Constitution for the Congress
1916 Lucknow Congress merger. Pact with Muslim League, Gandhi attended
1917 Calcutta Annie Besant became 1st women President
1920 Nagpur Gandhian programme was adopted. Change in congress constitution
1921 Ahmedabad Hasrat Mohani demanded for complete independence
1922 Gaya Formation of Swaraj Party
Year Place Importance
1924 Belgaum Gandhi became President
1925 Kanpur Sarojini Naidu became 1st Indian women President
1927 Madras Nehru and S. C. Bose moved resolution for independence and it was passed for the 1st time
1928 Calcutta First All India Youth Congress
1929 Lahore 'Poorna Swaraj' (Complete Independence) resolution and pledge for Independence day on 26 January 1930
1931 Karachi Resolution for Fundamental Rights and National Economic Policy
1934 Bombay Formation of Congress Socialist Party
1936 Lucknow Support for socialism through democracy
1937 Faizpur Demand for Constituent Assembly
1938 Haripura Purna Swaraj was to cover also princely states
1939 Tripuri S. C. Bose resigned due to difference with Gandhi, after resignation