Basic Computer
Computer Tutorial



Keyboard is the most popular input device for direct entry of data and instructions into computer. The standard QWERTY........ keyboard is used for computer. The enhanced keyboard has 101 keys. In addition to them, the computer keyboard usually has special keys like PageUp, PageDown, Home, Insert, Delete, PrintScreen etc. The computer keyboard is very much like the electronic typewriter keyboard. But it has additional keys.
The keyboard is linked to the CPU and it is also linked to the computer screen so that the data entered into the memory can be seen by the user as he types in the data.
Keyboards are of two sizes 84 keys or 101/102 keys, but now keyboards with 104 keys or 108 keys are also available for Windows and Internet.

Computer keyboard has following types of keys

1. Typing Keys
2. Numeric Keypad
3. Function Keys
4. Control Keys
5. Special Purpose Keys


1. Typing Keys

These keys include the digit keys (0-9) and letter keys (A-Z). Which generally give same layout as that of typewriters.

2. Numeric Keypad

It is used to enter numeric data or cursor movement. Generally, it consists of a set of 17 keys that are laid out in the same configuration used by most adding machines and calculators.

Function Keys

The twelve function keys are present on the keyboard which are arranged in a row at the top of the keyboard. Each function key has unique meaning and is used for some specific purpose.

Control keys

These keys provide cursor and screen control. It includes four directional arrow keys. Control keys also include Home, End, Insert, Delete, Page Up, Page Down, Control(Ctrl), Alternate(Alt), Escape(Esc).

Special Purpose Keys

Keyboard also contains some special purpose keys such as Enter, Shift, Caps Lock, Num Lock, Space bar, Tab, and Print Screen.