Man Booker Prize

Man Booker Prize

The Man Booker Prize for Fiction, popularly known as the Booker Prize, is a literary award given every year for the best original novel, written in the English language. Instituted in 1968, it is the highest literary award of the world, set up by the Booker Company and the British Publishers Association. It was originally known as the Booker-McConnell Prize. In 2002, the title sponsor became the investment company Man Group, and thus, the name was changed to Man Booker Prize.

Some Interesting Facts about Man Booker Prize

» P.H. Newby was the first winner of Booker Prize in 1969 for Something to Answer For.
» Yann Martel was the first winner of Man Booker Prize for Life of Pi in 2002, as Booker Prize was renamed Man Booker Prize in the same year.
» Hilary Mantel is the first woman and the first Briton to win the Man Booker Prize twice. J.M. Coetzee was the first person to win the Man Booker Prize twice.
» Eleanor Catton, who won the Man Booker Prize in 2013 is the youngest ever winner of the prize (28 years) and with the longest ever winning novel (832 pages).

Indian Winners of Man Booker Prize

Year Author Name of the Work
2008 Aravind Adiga The White Tiger
2006 Kiran Desai The Inheritance of Loss
1997 Arundhati Roy The God of Small Things
1981 Salman Rushdie Midnight’s Children
1971 V.S. Naipaul In a Free State

Booker Prize Winners (1969-2022)

Year Author Name of the Work
1971 V. S. Naipaul In a Free State
1972 John Berger G.
1973 J. G. Farrell The Siege of Krishnapur
1974 Nadine Gordimer
Stanley Middleton
The Conservationist
1977 Paul Scott Staying On
1978 Iris Murdoch The Sea, the Sea
1979 Penelope Fitzgerald Offshore
1980 William Golding Rites of Passage
1981 Salman Rushdie Midnight's Children
1982 Thomas Keneally Schindler's Ark
1983 J. M. Coetzee Life & Times of Michael K
1984 Anita Brookner Hotel du Lac
1985 Keri Hulme The Bone People
1986 Kingsley Amis The Old Devils
1987 Penelope Lively Moon Tiger
1988 Peter Carey Oscar and Lucinda
1989 Kazuo Ishiguro The Remains of the Day
1990 A. S. Byatt Possession: A Romance
1991 Ben Okri The Famished Road
1992 Michael Ondaatje The English Patient
1993 Roddy Doyle Paddy Clarke Ha Ha Ha
1994 James Kelman How late it was, how late
1995 Pat Barker The Ghost Road
1996 Graham Swift Last Orders
1997 Arundhati Roy The God of Small Things
1998 Ian McEwan Amsterdam
1999 J. M. Coetzee Disgrace
2000 Margaret Atwood The Blind Assassin
2001 Peter Carey True History of the Kelly Gang
2002 Yann Martel Life of Pi
2003 DBC Pierre Vernon God Little
2004 Alan Hollinghurst The Line of Beauty
2005 John Banville The Sea
2006 Kiran Desai The Inheritance of Loss
2007 Anne Enright The Gathering
2008 Aravind Adiga The White Tiger
2009 Hilary Mantel Wolf Hall
2010 Howard Jacobson The Finkler Question
2011 Julian Barnes The Sense of an Ending
2012 Hilary Mantel Bring Up the Bodies
2013 Eleanor Catton The Luminaries
2014 Richard Flanagan The Narrow Road to the Deep North
2015 Marlon James A Brief History of Seven Killings
2016 Paul Beatty The Sellout
2017 George Saunders Lincoln in the Bardo
2018 Anna Burns Milkman
2019 Margaret Atwood
Bernardine Evaristo
Girl, Woman, Other
2020 Douglas Stuart Shuggie Bain
2022 Shehan Karunatilaka The Seven Moons of Maali Almeida