Ramon Magsaysay Award

Ramon Magsaysay Award

Ramon Del Fierro Magsaysay (1907-57) was the third President of the Republic of Philippines. An outstanding leader, he worked throughout his life to build a nation—a world where people would be free and lead a peaceful co-existence.

Also known as Asia’s Nobel Prize, the Ramon Magsaysay Award was established in April 1957.
The awards are presented in the following six categories :
» Government Service
» Public Service
» Community Leadership
» Journalism, Literature, and Creative Communication Arts
» Peace and International Understanding
» Emergent Leadership

* Till 2009, awards were traditionally given in five categories
* However, post 2009, the Ramon Magsaysay Award Foundation annually selects the awardees for the field of Emergent Leadership.
* Awardees are presented with a certificate, a medallion with an embossed image of Ramon Magsaysay and cash prize.
* Till date, over 60 Indians have won the Ramon Magsaysay Award.

Winners for 2021

» Bangladesh’s Dr. Firdausi Qadri (Affordable Vaccine Champion)
» Pakistan’s Muhammad Amjad Saqib (Poverty Alleviation Visionary)
» Filipino Roberto Ballon a fisher and community environmentalist
» American Steven Muncy for humanitarian work and refugee assistance
» Indonesian torch bearer for investigative journalism, Watchdoc.