National Awards

National Awards

Republic Day Awards

Bharat Ratna (Highest civilian Award of the country), Padma Vibhushan (Exceptional and distinguished service), Padma Bhushan ( Distinguished service of a high order ), Padam shree (Distinguished service) are given for exceptional service towards the advancement of Art, Literature and Science and in recognition of public survives of a high or highest order.

Param Vir Chakra

It is the highest Gallantry Award. If is given for extraordinary act of bravery in the field of Naval, Air and Army.It is India's highest military decoration awarded for the highest degree of valour or self-sacrifice in the presence of the enemy. The medal has been awarded 21 times, 14 of which were posthumous awards.

Mahavir Chakra

It is the second highest Gallantry Award. After the Param Vir Chakra, and is awarded for acts of conspicuous gallantry in the presence of the enemy, whether on land, at sea or in the air. It replaced the British Distinguished Service Order (DSO). The medal may be awarded posthumously.

Vir Chakra

It is the third highest Gallantry Award. It award presented for acts of bravery in the battlefield.Established by the President of India on 26 January 1950 (with effect from 15 August 1947). The statutes were amended 12 January 1952 to readjust the order of wearing as new decorations were established.

National Awards